Not signed in (Sign In)

SkillShare - A place to discuss Web Standards and Web Design topics

Categories

Vanilla 1.1.9 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

    • CommentAuthorArun
    • CommentTimeDec 14th 2005 edited
     permalink
    Please post like this if any other are there..
    • CommentAuthorArun
    • CommentTimeDec 14th 2005 edited
     permalink
    Sorry for alllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll

    and pleaseeeeeeeeee
    • CommentAuthorfreshman
    • CommentTimeDec 14th 2005
     permalink
    Hey I'm the designer of www.freshmedia.ie, are you saying I copied that site or that site copied me.?
  1.  permalink
    http://www.technoheitz.com/ looks nothing like i-antz. It doesn't even render correctly in FF 1.5

    You know what they say: "Imitation is the greatest form of flattery."
    •  
      CommentAuthorshalstvedt
    • CommentTimeDec 14th 2005
     permalink

    Agreed, adjustafresh, on both comments. They look nothing alike, and the quote is so true.

    Arun, I do not believe either of the examples you provided are really rips. The first one might be a case of a little overzealous inspiration, but not as bad as most things I've seen.

    • CommentAuthorArun
    • CommentTimeDec 14th 2005
     permalink
    Sorry Guys...
    • CommentAuthorArun
    • CommentTimeDec 14th 2005 edited
     permalink
    Freshman: i am really sorry ! I remove my Comments
    • CommentAuthorfreshman
    • CommentTimeDec 15th 2005
     permalink
    Thats ok, Cheers Arun
    •  
      CommentAuthorbaldo
    • CommentTimeDec 15th 2005
     permalink
    They look nothing alike
  2.  permalink
    They are similar is many aspects, though the 2nd link is a lot less poor quality.
    • CommentAuthorArun
    • CommentTimeDec 15th 2005 edited
     permalink
    I agree the both look nothing alike but please...
    • CommentAuthorpons2000
    • CommentTimeDec 16th 2005
     permalink
    There are indeed some similarities in the menu items and placement location, but nothing that would stand up in a court of law. Arun, I wouldn' t stress out about it, because your site looks so much better that no one would ever think they could be related.

    How does one find out about a copycat site anyhow? Not that anyone would be interested in ripping off one of mine :)
    • CommentAuthorArun
    • CommentTimeDec 16th 2005
     permalink
    http://www.copyscape.com Help me to find this..
    • CommentAuthorrfrancis
    • CommentTimeDec 16th 2005
     permalink
    There is definitely more than "inspiration" involved in this case. The content in each section is a straight rip, and the header images for Corporate Profile and Products and Services are pulled straight from your site.

    I would start by contacting them directly and kindly asking them to remove all of your original material. Be specific, and cite specific examples. For instance, a quick look at their source code can reveal a lot:

    i-Antz Solutions_files/checker.gif
    i-Antz Solutions_files/spacer.gif

    I'd say you have a pretty case against them.

    Oh, and your site does look much better. : )
    •  
      CommentAuthormoondoggie
    • CommentTimeDec 16th 2005
     permalink
    I would save their source code before contacting them as well. Granted, a smart person could say that you had modified the code yourself to make it look like they stole from you, but a smart person wouldn't have used the "Save as Web Page, Complete" function in their browser and then posted the result on their site with only slight modifications. I mean, if I were going to steal your site and not change something, it would have been your layout and design - what they did was just horrid. And then they go and put a copyright notice on the bottom. Nice.

    Of course, I think their stupidity offends me more than their theft or lack of design ability.
    •  
      CommentAuthorSpookyET
    • CommentTimeDec 16th 2005
     permalink
    Use a tool that downloads the entire site. Use the ScrapBook firefox extension.
    •  
      CommentAuthorramm
    • CommentTimeJan 1st 2006
     permalink
    Try to contact them, make some screenshots of their pages with your images.

    I'm a member of cristalab, and last week we found this site that had copied the old flash header (including logo), and even it have some "hide" buttons under "L.Mayores" button that still opens pages in cristalab.
    Cristalab's webmaster want to post something about this in the weblog.
    •  
      CommentAuthortsk
    • CommentTimeJan 2nd 2006
     permalink
    That's a pathetic act of stealing. It's clear that you are dealing with a lazy noob in terms of flahs (at least). Apart from the hidden buttons you told us about under the logo, I can still see tiny white rectangles that were used for your submenues under "L. Mayores" & "Columnas". It even has a bug in the overall control of the menu that forces a refresh on that swf whenever I roll over the "former" parent menu buttons.

    A big ol' boo to the webdev of hitazos.com

    What actions have you taken against him to this point ?
  3.  permalink
    ? Nothing is alike at all...
  4.  permalink
    Not to be a jerk Arun ...

    But I see two separate pieces of ... well, I really won't go there. Arun, I know you have been a member for some time, but seriously your posts are becoming a bit rediculous. A few days ago you were trying to get hired for $6/hr and now you're saying a boring, ugly site is trying to steal your boring, ugly site. SKILLSHARE. Interpret that as you will, but that's what that forum seems to be.
    •  
      CommentAuthorfake
    • CommentTimeJul 16th 2006
     permalink
    "? Nothing is alike at all..."

    It's either us that need to take vacations, or they've already changed their design to some quick made one to make sure they don't get their asses sued.
    • CommentAuthoradmin
    • CommentTimeJul 16th 2006
     permalink
    guys this post is like half a year old, look at the dates!
  5.  permalink
    hehe, oh well.
    • CommentAuthorArun
    • CommentTimeJul 16th 2006 edited
     permalink
    Edward Herda (thepowerofed)

    this is tooooo much.........

    Why you peoples are just blaming me without thinking or watching the conversation.............. It is very pity matter.

    I am not a big or super designer.. Sorry for that... I am in learning stage and i never say that i am a super designer and this is very sad to hear.... I never blame anyone till now. And i never try to convince anyone that I am a super designer.. i just put my portfolio and all and everybody is blaming me... If you peoples are wanted to delete me from this form you can …………..

    Alex you can delete my conversations..
    And I am really sorry for you all… for your time …
    This is my last post in this from..
    And I am signing off from this CSS Beauty (the big CSS guys form especially not for poor designers)

    Thanks Alex for your all support…
    • CommentAuthoradmin
    • CommentTimeJul 17th 2006
     permalink
    You really shouldn't take it so hard, you will get critizised no matter where you go. This is how the internet works.
    •  
      CommentAuthorfake
    • CommentTimeJul 17th 2006
     permalink
    wtf, where did this reaction came from? It's probably the only tread I've read in which no one was giving Arun a hard time.

    I would have understood it in the 6$ an hour tread, but not from the replies of this tread.
    • CommentAuthorArun
    • CommentTimeJul 17th 2006
     permalink
    sorry......

    I feel very sad, because the behavior of peoples without understanding me...... that is why i wore like THIS...
    i will continue cssbeauty...

    because it my Fav. site....
Add your comments
    Username Password
  • Format comments as (Help)