Not signed in (Sign In)

SkillShare - A place to discuss Web Standards and Web Design topics

Categories

Vanilla 1.1.9 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

    • CommentAuthorworkharder
    • CommentTimeJul 24th 2006
     permalink
    I have found a new site that is refreshing. The site is justafreelancer.com the offer to give you 2.50 just for signing up. If you are a freelancer looking for work or a webmaster looking for a fresh site to find good freelancers you should go and check this site out. I have been on for a while and love the site. Take a look around and let me know what you think.

    If anyone has anyother site they know of that is a good site...please let me know always looking for new faces. Thanks
  1.  permalink
    Are you the freelancer who's bidding for "Get five hundreds of people to join at www.justafreelancer.com"?
    Just kidding.
    • CommentAuthorWardLarson
    • CommentTimeJul 24th 2006
     permalink
    they take a comission for any job you get payed for through that site.
    • CommentAuthortommy
    • CommentTimeJul 24th 2006
     permalink
    i find that getafreelancer.com is the best site for finding work
  2.  permalink
    This is not a place to get jobs for real Developer.
    I think the bid outbid concept just doesn't work.
    The best way to get projects is concentrate on a local market and slowly build client base, then referrals kick in.

    Cheers, DS
  3.  permalink
    It might just be me, but somehow the overall look and feel of the site makes me not want to trust them even with my email address. Also, it seems a bit overly desperate to offer money for joining up. Even though I'm sure there's nothing wrong with the service.
    •  
      CommentAuthornifkin
    • CommentTimeJul 25th 2006
     permalink
    It might just be me, but somehow the overall look and feel of the site makes me not want to trust them even with my email address.

    I'll second that one. It kind of comes across as a "fly by night" type of enterprise.
    •  
      CommentAuthormringlein
    • CommentTimeJul 25th 2006
     permalink
    I am willing to bet "workharder" is a spammer. They posted that right after creating an account and havn't been back since.
  4.  permalink
    There site is a template and poorly thrown together. The bidding will only get people to work for less than there worth. And once you have done the work, if you have any overhead, you're broke.

    It's great for designers who are starting out still living with there parents, but anyone who is making this there career can't live on that. I tried and found out the hard way you have to charge what you're worth and not what people are willing to pay. Sometimes you have to walk away from a job to save you time to get better paying work.
    •  
      CommentAuthorkayloe
    • CommentTimeJul 26th 2006 edited
     permalink
    ooooh!
    this looks so messy - like someone got out the php spray can and went ape.

    there are heaps of warnings about fraudulent job offers at the moment.
    not saying that this is one of them, but the design doesn't do that much to promote the service.

    deal or no deal? No deal!
Add your comments
    Username Password
  • Format comments as (Help)